Tom's Subject Directory & City Building Site

index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind
Safe Surf image

Ancient Egypt Online

Ancient Egypt  Sepat (Nomes)

The Nomes (Sepats, Provinces) of Ancient Egypt

Egypt has been divided into provinces since the Pre-dynastic period, but it is thought that there were originally fewer Sepats. Over time the boundaries of the provinces changed and the location of some still remain uncertain. Appearing late in Egyptian history, some Sepats such as the nome of Bubastis which is not mentioned until the New Kingdom.

Nome is of Greek origin (nomos) used to refer to the forty two traditional provinces of ancient Egypt. The actual ancient Egyptian term for these governmental divisions was sepat. Today, Egypt refers to its provinces as governates.

Sepats of Lower Egypt Sepats of Upper Egypt
Lower Egypt was ruled from the capital at Pe (Buto) in the northwest Delta. Upper Egypt was ruled from two capitals which were located at Nekhen (Hierakonpolis) or Thinis (near Abydos). The Pharaoh of Upper Egypt wore the White Crown ("hedjet") to display his guardianship of Upper Egypt. The Pharaoh of Lower Egypt wore the Red Crown ("deshret") to display his guardianship of Lower Egypt. After unification, the White Crown was combined with the Red Crown of Lower Egypt to form the Double Crown ("pschent").
Lower Egypt  (Ta Mehu) Upper Egypt  (Ta Shemau)
Nome  (Translation)  Capital Major Deities Nome  (Translation)  Capital Major Deities
1. Aneb-Hetch (White Walls) Memphis Ptah, Sokar, Apis 1. Ta-Seti (the Frontier) Abu, Elephantine Khnum, Satet (Satis), Anuket (Anukis), Isis, Horus the Elder and Sobek
2. Khensu (Cow's thigh) Khem (Letopolis) Horus, Kherty 2. Behde or Utes-Hor (Throne of Horus) Djeba Horus
3. Ahment (West) Imu (Apis) Hathor 3. Ten (The rural Shrine) Nekhen Horus, Nekhbet, Khnum, Neith
4. Sapi-Res (Southern shield) Ptkheka Neith 4. Waset  (Sceptre)  Niwt-rst / Waset Amun, Mut, Khonsu, Montu, Sobek, Meretseger, the Buchis cult
5. Sap-Meh (Northern shield)  Buto Sau, Neith 5. Nebyet-Ombos-Tukh Set of Nubet 
6. Khaset (Mountain bull) Khasu Re 6. Iunet-Tentyris-Dendera Hathor, Isis, Horus 
7. A-ment (West harpoon) Hermopolis Parva Ha 7. Hut-Sekhem-Diospolis Necropolis for Ibis 
8. A-bt (East harpoon) Tjeku Atum  8. Abedju - Abydos - Tjeny - Thinis Osireion 
9. Ati (Andjeti) Busiris Osiris, Andjety 9. Ipu(khent-min)-Khemmis Min 
10. Ka-khem (Black bull) Athribis Horus  10. Djew - el-Kebir Set 
11. Ka-heseb (Heseb bull) Taremu Shu, Tefnut, Mihos  11. Shashotep (Apotheke, Shutb) Set 
12. Theb-ka (Calf and Cow) Tjebnutjer Anhuret-Shu, Mehyt  12. Hut-Sekhem-Senusret (Hu) Nemty  
13. Heq-at (prospering sceptre) Iunu Atum, Nephthys, Iusaas, the Mnevis Bull, Hesat, Anubis 13. Atef-Khent - Saut Wepwawet, Anubis
14. Khenty-ab (Eastmost) Tjaru Set 14. Atef-Pehu - Qesy (Cusae, al-Qusiya) Hathor
15. Tehut (Ibis) Ba'h or Weprehwy Thoth 15. Wn or Un (Khemenu) Thoth
16. Kha (Fish) Djedet Banebdjed, Hatmehyt 16. Meh-Mahetch Pakhet, Khnum
17. Semabehdet  (The throne)  Edfu (Behdet) Horus 17. Anubis Anubis, Anput
18. Am-Khent (Prince of the South) Per-Bastet Bast 18.  
19. Am-Pehu (Prince of the North) Dja'net Wadjyt 19.  
20.Sopdu (Plumed Falcon) Per-Sopdu Sopdu 20.